Childhood Memories

Digging for Roots

To pull from the title of Thomas C. Wolfe’s book, which has become a popular phrase, “You can’t go home again.” Whether it’s due to time’s mere passing or a conscious choice to leave your home behind, for many, there is a perpetual sense of being drawn simultaneously toward the past and the present.

ladyleemanila

2206139723_9f0344b58a

CHILDHOOD MEMORIES
We’ve all had them. These were the times when life was full of roses and innocence, of experiments and fun, of being with families and friends. These were some of my recollections.

“You’re it!” I didn’t see her as she pointed to me, called my name and said, “You’re it!” I’ve got to look for them hiding around our street. It was getting dark so it was tough finding them. However, I knew Thor would be hiding at his usual place, my brother kissing our neighbour in one corner and I’d managed to locate Bethcha. Before long we had to go back to our houses and ate our dinner. Other days, we’d play patintero (try to cross my line without letting me touch or catch you), tumbang preso (hit the can), piko (hopscotch) or luksong-tinik (lit. jump over the thorns of a plant). Sometimes we’d rent some bikes…

View original post 324 more words

Leave a Reply

