Sampaguita – Carpe Diem #725, white blossoms

white blossoms
the crane was stolen
just yesterday
© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

virgin blossom
white like fresh fallen snow
colors the garden
© Chèvrefeuille

floral-emblems-of-vietnam-and-south-east-asian-nations-1244720-20131031121939-8

sampaguita blooms
our national flower
pure heavenly scent

fc2ed41507034a761c7acf8e253fc3cc

divine white flowers
we string them into leis
leis offered to saints

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.it/2015/05/carpe-diem-725-white-blossoms.html

10 thoughts on “Sampaguita – Carpe Diem #725, white blossoms

  1. Yessss… Sampaguita is the most “mabangong” flower for me. Maybe because I grew up smelling this flower at my grandma’s altar almost everyday when I was young. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Native New Jerseyan here & I own a Sampaguita for 10 years now, so wonderful! I live atop a small Mtn in the Northern part of the state with cold winters. Somehow this plant survives here although come springtime it looks o be strugglin’ mightily each year due to the dry heat needed to warm our homes each winter. But all summer it’s happily outside soaking up the rain & Sun = smiling broadly. It was given o me by 1 of your proud “Kabigian” (I hope I spelled correctly?) & ” I Promised ” Her (Is that what Sampaguita means in Tagalog?)I’d take good care of it because she could no longer keep it & was moving back to the Island.
      Can anyone advise how to take cuttings to start new plants? I have not had any luck after many attempts. My Sampaguita is the 2-leaved variety & looks exactly like the 1 at the top of this page.
      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh that is great, Tim, your own sampaguita and thriving 🙂 to be honest, I have no idea about taking cuttings to start new plants. I don’t even know how to plant it, sorry! good luck and best of luck! cheers!

        Like

Leave a Reply

