When Childhood Ends – Daily Prompt

Write about a defining moment in your life when you were forced to grow up in an instant (or a series of instants).

Thanks for suggesting this prompt, Mars Gone Mad!

20150531_122317

I wasn’t forced to grow up
I was probably 8 when I did
I assumed to grow up myself
I’ve always looked after them
my siblings, perhaps even now
in my mind, I’m responsible for them
and for my mother who I dearly love

I was 23 when I first left the country
to Europe to find some adventure
and I did, enjoyed each and every one
made me really mature and saw the world
totally different from the Philippines

when my Dad passed away, it broke my heart
I missed him terribly and made me face
life in a different way, about mortality
about priorities and importance in life
so I appreciate every blessing that I got
and live each day as if it was my last

For: When Childhood Ends

2 thoughts on “When Childhood Ends – Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

