A Cup of Coffee, Please


The meeting at the café was supposed to be quick and easy, but it quickly became complicated. My friend hasn’t arrived yet so I decided to queue at the coffee shop.

“Can I have a cup of coffee, please?” I said loudly at the barista.

“Which one, Sir?”

“White, no sugar” I answered.

“We don’t just have coffee, Sir. We have Latte, Americano, Capuccino, Espresso… have a look at our list and tell us what you want.” He’s trying to be patient.

“All these choices… uhmm, OK, can I have a Café Latte, please?”

“How big would you like it, Sir?”

“Oh, just a small one.”

“OK, one TALL Café Latte. To drink here or take out?”

“Here, I’m drinking it here.” And a big sigh of relief.

“Anything else, Sir?”

“No, no, that’s enough for today.”

“That would be €2.75.”

“I don’t have a change. Have you got a change for €20?”

For: #Maydays Prompt – Coffee Anyone?


7 thoughts on “A Cup of Coffee, Please

  1. Haha. So True Lady Lee. I’m not a coffee drinker but when you go to Starbucks for instance, there are so many different types of drinks that are like coffee, to choose from, and ways to say them to direct the barista how to make them. I stick to pretty simple I think because many of those fancy named drinks have many calories. Cold passion fruit tea no sweeter, green tea (hot), or a skinny hot chocolate so you can put the shipping cream on top🙂 Great prompt take🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

