Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille June 8th 2016

First autumn morning
the mirror I stare into
shows my father’s face.

© Murakami Kijo*

*) Kijo Murakami (1865-1938). Murakami Kijo, the Haiku poet, was born in Edo in 1865, and moved to Takasaki city in 1873. He was in sympathy with Masaoka Shiki and joined his group to publish the first edition of ‘Hototogisu’, the famous Haiku magazine. He published the collection of Kijo in 1917. He was a highly esteemed poet both within the prefecture and nationally. He died on September 17th, 1938 at the age of 73.


People say I look like my Dad and I’m proud of it. As I grew up, I noticed the similarities, not just physically, but also his character. He worked hard all his life and I think I got that industriousness as well as his sense of responsibility. I’m also generous to a fault and has a very positive attitude in life.

Oh how I miss my Dad. Wish he was still here with us. Wish he was one of us celebrating the wedding of HRH the son to his beautiful K. Wish he was there to meet all the families and friends from different parts of the world. Wish he was there giving a toast to his grandson.

I look like my Dad
Wish he was still with us
Missing him so much

(c) ladyleemanila 2016

For: Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille June 8th 2016

Leave a Reply

