June 13 Challenge

Day 13 Lucky 13

June 13, 1944. Prompted by the successful Allied Landing in Europe, Germany launched a V1 Flying Bomb attack on England. Luckily, only four of the bombs hit their targets. 

Tell us about a time you were lucky. Or unlucky.


When I was younger, say early 20s, we took my brother to the airport to join his ship. It was his first job as a Marine Engineer and we were all happy for him. My father drove us all back home. My mother sat in the passenger’s seat and the three children sat in the back. I was on the right hand side of the car. We were in Dapitan and the barrier for the train went down. Suddenly my father couldn’t break the car. We were shouting, thinking we won’t be able to stop and we’d drive through the barrier. That our whole family would die and my brother would come home to an empty house. I was praying, I thought that was the end. I haven’t even started my life yet. Luckily, a miracle happened and my father was able to stop the car. We were all in shock but very grateful.

For: Day 13 Lucky 13

Leave a Reply

