The Show Must Go On


THIS WEEK’S WORDS come from the notes on the poem “Waterfalls and Memory” by Elizabeth Crawford: flashes, moments, uneasy, recall, week, writing, altered, distorted, three, sister, years, came

It has been said that time makes flashes of memories distorted. It’s how we recall them and tried to alter them. Years before, the three of us, my brother, sister and I used to perform on stage. My sister and I danced while my brother played the piano. People came to see our performance, but it was hard work. Our parents made us do it, travelling from one town to another, week after week, not having our normal childhood. While I’m writing this, I’m worried that I might repeat what our parents did to us to my own kids.

For: Friday Fictioneers by Rochelle Wisoff and Whirligig 63 by Magical Mystical Teacher


6 thoughts on “The Show Must Go On

  1. Great take. I think the kids of parents like that can consciously make the decision to be different, to give their own kids different childhoods. It may be difficult, but it is possible. Think of Dad’s who don’t drink or hit their kids because their Dad’s beat them, or Mom’s who don’t bother their daughters about weight because their Mom’s consistently nagged them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

