Family ~ Pic and a Word Challenge #46

Look at this black and white photo
Golden anniversary of our grandparents
We were all there, some not even born
Most of them were not with us anymore
And so with this in mind, my homage

Tatay was my idol, a great reader
Died of Parkinson’s disease, still reading
He put the meanings of the difficult words
Wrote them in pencils at the side of books

Nanay, still beautiful in her old age
Long wavy hair, deaf as a post
Her cooking, shall we say, creative
Mixing things we normally don’t mixed

Tia Carol and Tio Fred, both in heaven
Both doctors, humble as pies
Good storytellers, took life leisurely
Spoke the dialect I cannot understand

Tio Alex, bless his soul, only brother
Worked in Customs, good looking
Tia Ludy, still with us, still elegant
Brought the kids on her own

My Mum, my darling mother
Pregnant with our youngest brother
My Dad, I still miss him, now gone
Memories in our hearts and souls

All siblings and cousins
Now all with own families
We used to play together
Our own family portrait

(c) ladyleemanila 2016

Photographs and memories
Of many moons ago
When ancestors were still here
Telling us stories of what they had
Of histories and struggles
Of freedom and hope
My parents when they were 18
Young love, of faiths and dreams
Our family on our grandparents’ day
Celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary
With all the children and grandchildren
A photo with my siblings and our Mom
The youngest not even born yet
And me when I was five, as a queen
One dancing the Hawaiian dance
And one with my Dad pinning my medal

(c) ladyleemanila 2016

For: Family ~ Pic and a Word Challenge #46 by Patrick Jennings

One thought on “Family ~ Pic and a Word Challenge #46

Leave a Reply

