Friday Night Music Prompt # 56: The Mary Ellen Carter by Stan Rogers

The ground beneath my feet begins to crumble
I’m left with nothing to hold on to, null
The reality that I’ve created has vanished
I have to admit, I have lost the battle

The world is against me, my fight is extinguished
They have abandoned me, all the ones I cherished
I’ve learned my lessons, time to rise again
I’ve got to prove my worth, finish the unfinished

And all around me, mountains, moor and glen
Rainbows and sunshine, all beyond my ken
Time to rise again, the world is waiting for me
There’s still hope, I’ve got to carry on then

Forget the pain and live life wholeheartedly
Remember to count the blessings gratifyingly
Enjoy the simple things with a nice cup of tea
I have to remember all these, that’s the key*

(c) ladyleemanila 2016

*Quatrain

For: Friday Night Music Prompt # 56: The Mary Ellen Carter by Stan Rogers

7 thoughts on “Friday Night Music Prompt # 56: The Mary Ellen Carter by Stan Rogers

  1. And all around me, mountains, moor and glen
    Rainbows and sunshine, all beyond my ken
    Time to rise again, the world is waiting for me
    There’s still hope, I’ve got to carry on then

    Beautiful optimism and strength in these lines!
    Thank you so much for participating at MLMM.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have completely captured the essence of the song — to call upon our strengths, to carry on. “Forget the pain and live life wholeheartedly/ Remember to count the blessings gratifyingly/ Enjoy the simple things with a nice cup of tea/ I have to remember all these, that’s the key*” Wise words for all of us!
    Thanks for participating in Friday Night Music Prompt

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

