Poetry challenge #49: Painful silence



The ground beneath my feet begins to crumble
I’m left with nothing to hold on to, null
I have to admit, I have lost the battle

You are there, so far away, unreachable
I say this, you say that, misunderstanding
Causing pain in the heart and soul, shattering

For what I’ve done, I’m blameful
The world is against me, my fight is extinguished
You have abandoned me, the one I cherished

Forget the pain and move on, as I mull
I’ve learned my lesson, time to rise again
Rainbows and sunshine, all beyond my ken

There’s still hope, do what I’m able
Count my blessing and prove my worth
Try and do my best being part of this earth

For: Poetry challenge #49: Painful silence by Jane Dougherty

10 thoughts on “Poetry challenge #49: Painful silence

Leave a Reply

