From the bridge comes the reflection

lights

From the bridge comes the reflection
Artificial lights and tall trees
Snow on the ground and on branches
The air cools and the crickets sing

Will he be there waiting for me?
From the bridge comes the reflection
Will he be glad to see me back?
Life’s strange but I know I’m back

I’ve been through a lot of journeys
Went through all the seasons of life
From the bridge comes the reflection
But I know I’m coming back home

The lights dance, too by the canal
Welcoming me in open arms
I’ve learned my lessons, hope’s not late
From the bridge comes the reflection*

(c) ladyleemanila 2016

* A Quatern is a sixteen line French form composed of four quatrains. It is similar to the Kyrielle and the Retourne. It has a refrain that is in a different place in each quatrain. The first line of stanza one is the second line of stanza two, third line of stanza three, and fourth line of stanza four. A quatern has eight syllables per line. It does not have to be iambic or follow a set rhyme scheme.

line 1
line 2
line 3
line 4

line 5
line 6 (line 1)
line 7
line 8

line 9
line 10
line 11 (line 1)
line 12

line 13
line 14
line 15
line 16 (line 1)

For: Thursday photo prompt – Lights #writephoto by Sue Vincent

writephoto-logo1

10 thoughts on “From the bridge comes the reflection

Leave a Reply

