My Part in the EDSA Revolution 1986

edsa

Two nuns were kneeling down in front of a soldier. One nun was holding her rosary tightly, urging the soldier not to shoot them or just reciting her prayers loudly. The other nun was in a contemplative mood, one hand touching her chin, the other arm crossed under her chest. In front of them was a soldier brandishing a belt of bullets, his M-16 rifle held at slope arms. The contrasting image of the nuns and the cold, harsh rifle of the soldier was the focus of this photograph. A huge crowd was behind the nuns. They were ordinary street Filipinos, men and women, parents and children, students, employed or unemployed, rich, middle-class or poor. I was part of this crowd – more people coming and going, military tanks and cannons with their soldiers greeted with flowers and food, burning tyres, activist flags and streamers, vendors, vehicles, portable radios, foreign correspondents and religious altars everywhere.

For: Writespiration #85 Snippets of You by Sacha Black

snippets-of-you

8 thoughts on “My Part in the EDSA Revolution 1986

    1. Actually, I came home to tell my parents I was getting married in the UK, so I must be 25. Him Indoors was really nervous in the UK. It was scary, but fun, I was with my mother and siblings and we brought some sandwiches for the soldiers and the others. We were at Camp Crame. I was part of that history.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment